Ganna Gryniva

Ganna Ensemble

 

 

Ganna Gryniva_Foto_Dovile Sermokas-187A1574 web

GANNA GRYNIVA voice, effects, composition

MUSINA EBOBISSÉ tenor saxophone

POVEL WIDESTRAND piano

TOM BERKMANN bass

MATHIAS RUPPNIG  drums

“Home” by “Ganna” is certainly an album of the year, poignant, powerful, great singing and playing!

Ulli Habersetzer, Deutschlandfunk 11/2022

She came to Germany from Ukraine with her parents in 2002 at the age of 13. Today she is one of the most impressive singers on the German jazz and world music scene. Her recently released album is called “Home” – full of stirringly beautiful songs in refined arrangements. A jazz highlight of the year, according to Roland Spiegel (Bavarian Radio Broadcast Station):

A mood and a voice that immediately captivate. A gentle pushing forward of tones. A – still – quiet celebration of the moment. A blossoming. It is the voice of singer Ganna Gryniva. Her new album “Home” begins with a song that is about spring. A folk song from the country from which Ganna Gryniva once came to Germany, the Ukraine. Even about spring one can hardly sing more beautifully than she does here. These shimmering colours in the voice. This pliancy of song. And this naturalness. These notes are like gentle and increasingly firm touches at a dance. And yet this is a song full of symbolic power at this time. Because spring is the season after a hard winter. The powerful new beginning after difficult months.

Behind the singer there is also an excellent band: the French saxophonist Musina Ebobissé, the Swedish pianist Povel Widestrand, the bassist Tom Berkmann from Bavaria and the Austrian drummer Mathias Ruppnig. A strong team for very expressive music.

Foto - Dovile Sermons _ Collage - Grycja_1 web
Foto - Dovile Sermons _ Collage - Grycja_2 web

One of the highlights of the album is a song about a mother and her son saying goodbye before he goes to war. He asks her for forgiveness in case he doesn’t come back alive. It is a folk song that already gained significance in the winter of 2013 to 2014 – when over a hundred people lost their lives after the violent crackdown on protests against pro-Russian policies. It became a requiem for the victims. In 2022, this Ukrainian song is one of the most frequently sung.

It is deeply moving the way it is sung here. Interpreted in such a way that neither sentimentality nor excessive pathos arise. It is intimacy, it is beauty, and it is pain that is expressed here through fine and highly differentiated music. These recordings carry a deeply human message into the world. And it is precisely because this music also allows itself to be agitated and restless, and above all never smooth, that it is particularly gripping. Ganna Gryniva is a moving singer and interpreter, fascinating how directly she translates emotions into music. And an impressive mediator of songs that in these times – and sung in this way – should interest many people in the world.

Roland Spiegel, Bayerischer Rundfunk

Ganna Gryniva (UA/D), born in 1989, grew up near Kiev and moved to Germany with her parents when she was 13. The singer, composer, pianist and activist, who has been living in Berlin since 2013, unfolds her various cultural roots in music. She is actively committed to spreading the cultural heritage from Ukraine. In the GANNA quintet and in her solo programme for loops and electronics, she combines jazz with Ukrainian folklore, classical and experimental music, and in this way has found her very own way of passing on the old song heritage.In 2019, Ganna completed her jazz studies at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in Weimar, where she studied with Michael Schiefel, Jeff Cascaro and Frank Möbus. She also holds a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy from the University of Leipzig. Currently she is working on a new album with Daniel Santiago and Wanja Slavin.

Musina Ebobissé (FR) is a french tenor saxophone player living and working between Berlin and Paris. In 2013 Musina enters the Jazz Institut Berlin, where he studies, with Peter Weniger, John Hollenbeck, Jim Black, Kurt Rosenwinkel and Greg Cohen. He completes a bachelor’s degree in jazz performance in 2017 and a master’s degree in jazz composition in 2019. In 2018, Musina Ebobissé won the second prize of the International Jazz Composition Contest of Katowice. In August 2019 Double Moon Records released the debut album of Musina Ebobissé Quintet „Timeprints” that was nominated for the Deutsche Jazz Preis in the category “Best Debut Album 2021“. 

Tom Berkmann (DE) is a German bass player. Still being in high school Tom started studying Jazz Bass at the Richard-Strauss-Conservatory in Munich with Paulo Cardoso. After graduating from school he moved to Berlin to study at the Jazz Institute. He was a DAAD scholar (German Academic Exchange Service) and graduated from Manhattan School of Music in New York with a Master of Music degree. He was a semifinalist in the Jazz Competition of the International Double Bass Convention “Bass 2010” in Berlin. For composing and performing the soundtrack of the movie “Oh Boy” he received the German Academy Award for Best Filmscore and the German Critic’s Award for Best Soundtrack at the Berlin Film Festival Berlinale in 2013. In September 2021 Whirlwind Recordings is releasing the second album of Tom ́s Modern Jazz group “Scopes”.

Mathias Ruppnig (AT) is an Austrian drummer and composer. He is the musician in demand in the Berlin jazz scene. With his own projects “Mathias Ruppnig Quintet”, “DACH” and SCOPES he tours Europe and Asia regularly. He completed both a Bachelor and Master’s Degree at the University of Music and Performing Arts, in Graz, Austria. As a leader and composer he released already four records on well established labels such as British based Whirlwind Recordings. In 2014, he won the “Downbeat Award for College Graduate Outstanding Performance” in the Latin group category with the KUG Composers’ Ensemble. Since 2018 Mathias is a member of the Tobias Meinhart 4tet & Kurt Rosenwinkel (Sunnyside Records).

Povel Widestrand (SW) is a Swedish pianist living and working in Berlin. In 2017 he completes his studies in jazz piano at the Jazz Institut Berlin where he studies with Kurt Rosenwinkel, John Hollenbeck, Greg Cohen and Wolfgang Köhler. In 2015 Povel ́s trio HOLON receives the 2nd prize in the Jazz Competition at the Burghausen Jazz Fest. In the same year Povel becomes artist in Residence at Music Matters Sri Lanka, also performing solo at the MusicMatters Festival 2015 alongside with other international acts. In 2017 he is featured as a soloist with Bohuslän Big Band as a part of their project ”Up & coming jazz talents”. In 2018 the Swedish radio honors him with the title of „Newcomer of the Year“.

Ganna Gryniva

Ganna Ensemble

Ganna Gryniva_Foto_Dovile Sermokas-187A1574 web

GANNA GRYNIVA    voice, loops, effects, composition

MUSINA EBOBISSÉ   tenor saxophone

POVEL WIDESTRAND   piano

TOM BERKMANN   bass

MATHIAS RUPPNIG   drums

„Home“ von „Ganna“ ist sicher ein Album des Jahres, ergreifend, kraftvoll, großartig gesungen und gespielt!

Ulli Habersetzer, Deutschlandfunk 11/2022

Mit 13 Jahren kam sie 2002 mit ihren Eltern aus der Ukraine nach Deutschland. Heute ist sie eine der eindrucksvollsten Sängerinnen der deutschen Jazz- und Weltmusikszene. Ihr eben erschienenes Album heißt „Home“ – voller mitreißend schöner Lieder in raffinierten Arrangements. Ein Jazz-Highlight des Jahres, findet Roland Spiegel vom Bayerischen Rundfunk:

Eine Stimmung und eine Stimme, die sofort fesseln. Ein sanftes Vorwärtsdrängen von Tönen. Eine – noch – leise Feier des Augenblicks. Ein Aufblühen. Es ist die Stimme der Sängerin Ganna Gryniva. Ihr neues Album „Home“ beginnt mit einem Lied, das vom Frühling handelt. Ein Volkslied aus dem Land, aus dem Ganna Gryniva einst nach Deutschland kam, der Ukraine. Sogar über den Frühling kann man kaum schöner singen, als sie es hier tut. Diese flirrenden Farben in der Stimme. Diese Biegsamkeit des Gesangs. Und diese Natürlichkeit. Wie sanfte und immer fester werdende Berührungen bei einem Tanz sind diese Töne. Dabei ist dies ein Lied voller Symbolkraft in dieser Zeit. Denn der Frühling: Das ist die Jahreszeit nach einem harten Winter. Der kraftvolle Neu-Anfang nach schweren Monaten.

Hinter der Sängerin ist auch eine hervorragende Band zu hören: der französische Saxophonist Musina Ebobissé, der schwedische Pianist Povel Widestrand, der aus Bayern stammende Bassist Tom Berkmann und der österreichische Schlagzeuger Mathias Ruppnig. Ein starkes Gespann für eine sehr ausdrucksstarke Musik. 

Foto - Dovile Sermons _ Collage - Grycja_1 web
Foto - Dovile Sermons _ Collage - Grycja_2 web

Zu den Höhepunkten des Albums zählt ein Lied über eine Mutter und ihren Sohn, die sich verabschieden, bevor er in den Krieg zieht. Er bittet sie um Vergebung für den Fall, dass er nicht lebend zurückkommt. Ein Volkslied, das schon im Winter von 2013 auf 2014 Bedeutung erlangte – als über hundert Menschen nach der gewaltsamen Niederschlagung von Protesten gegen prorussische Politik ihr Leben verloren. Es wurde zu einem Requiem auf die Opfer. 2022 gehört dieses ukrainische Lied zu den besonders oft gesungenen.

Tief berührend ist es so, wie es hier erklingt. So interpretiert, dass weder Sentimentalität noch zu starkes Pathos entstehen. Es ist Innigkeit, es ist Schönheit, und es ist Schmerz, was hier durch eine feine und hochdifferenzierte Musik ausgedrückt wird. Eine zutiefst menschliche Botschaft tragen diese Aufnahmen in die Welt. Und gerade weil diese Musik sich auch gestattet, aufgewühlt und unruhig und vor allem nie glatt zu sein, packt sie besonders. Eine bewegende Sängerin und Interpretin ist Ganna Gryniva, faszinierend, wie unmittelbar sie hier Emotionen in Musik umsetzt. Und eine beeindruckende Vermittlerin von Liedern, die in diesen Zeiten – und auf diese Art gesungen – viele Menschen auf der Welt interessieren sollten.

Roland Spiegel, Bayerischer Rundfunk, 11/2022

Ganna Gryniva (UA/DE), geboren 1989, wuchs nahe Kiev auf und zog mit 13 Jahren mit ihren Eltern nach Deutschland. Die seit 2013 in Berlin lebende Sängerin, Komponistin, Pianistin und Aktivistin entfaltet ihre verschiedenen kulturellen Wurzeln in der Musik. Sie setzt sich aktiv dafür ein, das kulturelle Erbe aus der Ukraine zu verbreiten. Im GANNA-Quintett und in ihrem Soloprogramm für Loops und Elektronik verbindet sie Jazz mit ukrainischer Folklore, Klassik und experimenteller Musik und hat auf diese Art und Weise eine ganz eigene Form gefunden, das alte Liedgut weiterzugeben. 2019 schloss Ganna ihr Jazzstudium an der Musikhochschule Franz Liszt in Weimar ab, wo sie bei Michael Schiefel, Jeff Cascaro und Frank Möbus studierte. Außerdem hat sie einen Bachelor of Arts in Philosophie an der Universität Leipzig. Im Moment arbeitet sie an einem neuen Album mit Daniel Santiago und Wanja Sklavin.

Musina Ebobissé (FR) ist ein französischer Tenorsaxophonist, der zwischen Berlin und Paris lebt und arbeitet. Er studierte am Jazz Institut Berlin ein, wo er bei Peter Weniger, John Hollenbeck, Jim Black, Kurt Rosenwinkel und Greg Cohen studierte. 2017 schloß er den Bachelor in Jazz Performance und 2019 den Master in Jazz Komposition ab. 2018 gewann Musina Ebobissé den zweiten Preis des Internationalen Jazz-Kompositionswettbewerbs in Kattowitz. Im August 2019 veröffentlichte Double Moon Records das Debütalbum des Musina Ebobissé Quintets „Timeprints“, das für den Deutschen Jazz Preis in der Kategorie „Bestes Debütalbum 2021“ nominiert wurde.

Tom Berkmann (DE) ist ein deutscher Bassist. Noch während der Schulzeit begann Tom Berkmann sein Jazz-Bass-Studium am Richard-Strauss-Konservatorium in München bei Paulo Cardoso. Nach dem Abitur zog er nach Berlin, um am Jazz-Institut zu studieren. Er war DAAD-Stipendiat (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) und schloss sein Studium an der Manhattan School of Music in New York mit einem Master of Music ab. Er war Halbfinalist beim Jazz-Wettbewerb des Internationalen Kontrabass-Kongresses „Bass 2010“ in Berlin. Für die Komposition und Einspielung des Soundtracks zum Film „Oh Boy“ erhielt er 2013 auf der Berlinale den Deutschen Filmpreis für die beste Filmmusik und den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik für den besten Soundtrack. Im September 2021 veröffentlicht Whirlwind Recordings das zweite Album von Tom ́s Modern Jazz Gruppe „Scopes“. 

Mathias Ruppnig (AT) ist ein österreichischer Schlagzeuger und Komponist. Er ist einer der gefragten Musiker in der Berliner Jazzszene. Mit seinen eigenen Projekten „Mathias Ruppnig Quintet“, „DACH“ und SCOPES tourt er regelmäßig durch Europa und Asien. Er absolvierte sowohl ein Bachelor- als auch ein Master-Studium an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz, Österreich. Als Leader und Komponist veröffentlichte er bereits vier Platten auf etablierten Labels wie dem britischen Whirlwind Recordings. Im Jahr 2014 gewann er mit dem KUG Composers‘ Ensemble den „Downbeat Award for College Graduate Outstanding Performance“ in der Kategorie Latin Group. Seit 2018 ist Mathias Mitglied des Tobias Meinhart 4tet & Kurt Rosenwinkel (Sunnyside Records).

Povel Widestrand (SW) ist ein schwedischer Pianist, der in Berlin lebt und arbeitet. Im Jahr 2017 schloß er sein Jazzpiano-Studium am Jazz Institut Berlin ab, wo er bei Kurt Rosenwinkel, John Hollenbeck, Greg Cohen und Wolfgang Köhler studiert. 2015 erhielt Povel ́s Trio HOLON den 2. Preis beim Jazzwettbewerb der Jazzwoche Burghausen. Im selben Jahr wurde Povel Artist in Residence bei Music Matters Sri Lanka und tritt beim MusicMatters Festival 2015 neben anderen internationalen Acts auch solo auf. 2017 ist er als Solist mit der Bohuslän Big Band im Rahmen ihres Projekts „Up & coming jazz talents“ zu hören. 2018 ehrte ihn der schwedische Rundfunk mit dem Titel „Newcomer des Jahres“.