Timo Vollbrecht

Fly Magic

 

 

Timo-i-Cover

Timo Vollbrecht      sax & clar

Keisuke Matsuno   guitar

Elias Stemeseder    piano & synth

(Bernhard Meyer    bass)

Jason Burger    drums

(Sebastian Merk    drums)

Modern, flexible and free from quotes and imitation, self-effacing and delicate.

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

 

Based in Brooklyn, rooted in Berlin, focusing on composed and improvised music: Timo Vollbrecht is what the New York City Jazz Record calls a “luminously-fine” saxophonist-bandleader, whose music is “blessed with rhythmic fluidity and intricate twists.” Acclaimed for his “warm blanket of sound” (JazzThing), he follows a carefully composed musical vision that balances emotional intensity, vivacious energy, and delicate simplicity. The result is a sound of self-effacing insistence that is as visual as it is sonically beautiful. It inspires a sense of wonder as it is rarely felt in music today.  A musical omnivore, he organically combines jazz with elements of post-rock, indie, new music, experimental, and instrumental songwriting. “Through this confluence of influences, his music transcends the limitation of musical genre” (Stefon Harris).

FLY MAGIC is Vollbrecht’s signature ensemble. The band has released two albums, tours worldwide and appears at major festivals in Europe, the US, Asia, Australia, the Middle East, and South America. It comprises four spectacular improvisers that emerge from the scenes of New York and Berlin. Their collective musical story originates right at the intersection of styles and cultural diversity, as seen on their newest release Faces in Places (Berthold Records). The album tells the tale of 10 human encounters in different countries that left a deep imprint on the musicians. Hence, the music whisks you to meet Mala in Malaysia, Muhammad in Syria, or Tiffany in Singapore. Before that, the band released its debut album Fly Magic, which the Jazzpodium Magazine views as “one of the most outstanding recordings of a German artist in 2016.”  FLY MAGIC also features the unique and intimate musical relationship between Vollbrecht and his longtime artistic partners, guitarist and sound-wizard Keisuke Matsuno, keyboarder Elias Stemeseder (bassist Bernhard Meyer), and drummer Jason Burger (Sebastian Merk).

It is their love for the element of surprise and their search for the paths less traveled that keep this music at the cutting edge of contemporary improvised music.

stern_gr

Born in Lower-Saxony, Timo Vollbrecht studied jazz saxophone at the Berlin University of the Arts and at New York University, under the guidance of Mark Turner and Stefon Harris. He performed with Branford Marsalis’s band at the Village Vanguard and played with Kenny Werner, Drew Gress, Joe Lovano, Randy Brecker, and pop icon Robbie Williams. Vollbrecht was among the Featured Artists of the Month in New York’s “jazz bible” Hot House. He regularly performs for the German Goethe-Institute and appeared at Winter Jazz Fest NYC, Blue Note Jazz Club, Jazz at Lincoln Center, and Alice Tully Hall. He was commissioned to compose for contemporary dance at “Trois CL” in Luxembourg and wrote for the NYC-based JACK String Quartet. An Adjunct Professor at NYU, he is writing a doctoral dissertation on “Manfred Eicher, ECM Records, and the creative process in the recording studio.”

Keisuke Matsuno is a Berlin-native and Brooklyn-based musician focused on electric guitars, analog sound devices, composed and improvised music. With his unique artistic approach described as “most extravagant, mind-blowing, & unheard-within-the-unheard” (Blow Up magazine), he has been co-leading the Berlin-based krautrock band Trio Schmetterling. Since moving to New York City in 2010, he has been working and collaborating with a wide range of artists: He has been performing John Zorn’s Book of Bagatelles at the Village Vanguard, National Sawdust, The Stone, and other venues with the Jim Black Guitar Quartet. He has also released three records with electronic artist Lars Graugaard, and has performed Superhero Clubhouse & Matchboxarts’ “MARS,” a multi-disciplinary play with the intention of evolving the consciousness in the face of global environmental crisis.

Elias Stemeseder, born in Salzburg, Austria is a pianist who favors an almost voluptuous tone on the instrument, soft and aglow,” as described by the New York Times. He studied piano at Bruckner University in Linz and at UdK Berlin.  Based in between NYC and Berlin, he composes for the ensembles light/tiedDogtown, Elias Stemeseder/Cory Smythe/Georg Vogel, and Anna Webber/Elias Stemeseder. He is a longtime member of drummer Jim Black’s trio, which has recorded for Intakt Records and Winter&Winter. In 2016, he worked with John Zorn as part of Zorn’s Bagatelles project. His collaborators include Laurie Anderson, Greg Cohen, Mat Maneri, Joe McPhee, Joey Baron and Nels Cline. Elias has been featured as a pianist and/or composer at Concorso Busoni, Umbria Jazz and Moers festivals, as well as the Village Vanguard, The Stone, Bimhuis and Elbphilharmonie.

Drummer Jason Burger from Orange County, CA is a graduate from Manhattan School of Music who has appeared at important music venues including the Jazz Gallery, the Iridium, Shapeshifter Lab, while appearing on TV channels such as MTV. A stellar jazz drummer, Jason moves beyond by incorporating groove from indie-rock and today’s song culture. The receiver of the Louis Armstrong Award for outstanding musical achievement has also performed with legendary pianist Ted Rosenthal. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Bernhard Meyer is a true sound artist who has left a significant mark on the German jazz scene thanks to his lyrical and expressive approach on the semi-acoustic bass. A prolific composer, he works with John Hollenbeck, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Jim Black, Eric Schäfer, Andi Haberl, and his brother Peter Meyer. He is known for his work as a leader of his own quintet as well as for the successful MELT Trio. As collaborators who go way back, Meyer and Vollbrecht worked together in their band MSV Brecht from 2005-2012.

Sebastian Merk is one of Europe’s most in demand drummers. He is professor for jazz drums at the Dresden Conservatory of Music. Prof. Merk has gained international recognition for his solo work as a composer, as well as for his collaborations with Johannes Enders, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Lee Konitz, Spaniol4, Bartmes, and Sebastian Studnitzky.

stern_gr

It may be thanks to the selection of musical material, the attention to detail, and the band’s joy of improvising that Fly Magic creates, among a myriad of Klangfarben, an astonishing and long-lasting intensity.

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Norbert Krampf, 04/2018

Belonging to the “who’s who of Brooklyn-centric stars.

Downbeat Magazine, Hilary Brown, 10/2018

Fly Magic is an album which will belong to the outstanding and most significant recordings of a German artist of the year 2016.

Jazzpodium, Thorsten Hingst, 08/2016

Timo Vollbrecht has put together a beautiful recording full of melody and expression. […] He is a fantastic tenor saxophonist.

Joe Lovano, Liner notes to the album Fly Magic, 03/2016

Timo Vollbrecht has developed a unique artistic voice […] and it is especially the sensation of air and tranquility that is so impressive. […] A true discovery.

Deutschlandradio Kultur, Jan Tengeler, 03/2018

Vollbrecht creates a warm wall of sound.

JazzThing, Rolf Thomas, 03/2016

Timo Vollbrecht

Fly Magic

Timo-i-Cover

Timo Vollbrecht      sax & clar

Keisuke Matsuno   guitar

Elias Stemeseder    piano & synth

(Bernhard Meyer    bass)

Jason Burger    drums

(Sebastian Merk    drums)

 „Timo Vollbrechts warm-timbrierter Ton zeigt unprätenziöse Eleganz.“

FAZ

Wohnhaft in Brooklyn und verwurzelt in Berlin, bewegt sich Timo Vollbrecht am liebsten an der Schnittstelle von komponierter und improvisierter Musik. Er ist laut der New York City Jazz Record ein „brillanter deutscher Saxofonist und Bandleader, dessen Musik mit rhythmischer Finesse und eleganten Modulationen glänzt.“ Musikalisch geht Vollbrecht seinen ganz eigenen Weg und verfolgt dabei eine behutsam konzipierte Klang-Vision. Sie balanciert emotionale Ausdruckskraft und lebhafte Energie mit herrlicher Schlichtheit. Das Ergebnis ist ein Sound, der nuanciert statt plakativ auftrumpfend daherkommt und in seiner zurückhaltenden Beharrlichkeit starke emotionale Bilder schafft. Seine melodiösen Kompositionen setzen sich über Genre-Grenzen hinweg, indem sie Jazz mit Elementen aus Post-Rock, Indie, Neuer Musik, Experimental und instrumentalem Songwriting verbinden. Gefeiert wird Vollbrecht indes für seinen warm-timbrierten Ton, in den „man sich wie in eine warme Decke hüllen kann“ (JazzThing).

FLY MAGIC heißt seine Band, die zwei Alben veröffentlichte, rund um den Globus tourt und auf Festivals in Europa, den USA, Asien, Australien, im Nahen Osten und Südamerika auftritt. Sie besteht aus vier herausragenden Improvisatoren, die der New Yorker / im europäischen Line-up der New Yorker und Berliner Szene entspringen: Gitarrist Keisuke Matsuno, Keyboarder Elias Stemeseder (bzw. Bassist Bernhard Meyer), Schlagzeuger Jason Burger (bzw. Schlagzeuger Sebastian Merk) sind allesamt Vollbrechts langjährige musikalische Partner. Ihr Gestaltungswille entspringt der explosiven Schnittstelle verschiedener Stile und kultureller Herkünfte, wie ihr aktuelles Album Faces in Places (Berthold Records) zeigt. Das Album erzählt die Geschichten von zehn Bekanntschaften, welche die Musiker während ihrer weltweiten Konzertreisen machten und entführt den Hörer zu Begegnungen mit Mala aus Malaysia, Muhammad aus Syrien oder Tiffany aus Singapur. Zuvor veröffentlichten sie mit der gleichnamigen Platte Fly Magic (Berthold Records) ein Werk, dass das Magazin Jazzpodium „zu den herausragenden Aufnahmen eines deutschen Musikers in 2016“ zählte.

Die Improvisationsfreude dieses Quartetts, seine Detailschärfe und die Lust, unerforschte Wege zu erkunden, verhilft dieser Musik an die Spitze zeitrelevanter improvisierter Musik.

stern_gr

Timo Vollbrecht ist gebürtiger Niedersachse und studierte Saxofon am Jazz-Institut Berlin und an der New York University. Zu seinen Lehrern zählten Mark Turner, Joe Lovano und Stefon Harris. Er trat mit Branford Marsalis im Village Vanguard auf und spielte mit Kenny Werner, Randy Brecker, Carlos Bica, Mike Mainieri und der Pop-Ikone Robbie Williams. Darüber hinaus wurde er in zahlreichen internationalen Medien gefeiert und die New Yorker Jazz-Bibel Hot House präsentierte ihn als Featured Artists Of The Month. Er spielt regelmäßig für Tourneen für das Goethe-Institut und konzertierte auf dem Winter Jazz Fest New York, Jazz at Lincoln Center, Blue Note und der Jazzwoche Burghausen. Des Weiteren schrieb er Musik für Tanz im Rahmen des Emergences Festivals in Luxemburg und komponierte ein Streichquartett für das renommierte New Yorker JACK Quartet. Er ist Adjunct Professor für Jazz an der NYU und schreibt im Bereich der Jazz Studies an seiner Doktorarbeit.

Gitarrist Keisuke Matsuno ist ein wahrer Sound Artist. Der aus Berlin stammende Sohn japanischer Eltern studierte Gitarre an den Musikhochschulen in Weimar, Luzern und New York und hat sich in der internationalen Musikszene durch sein Talent für die Kreation von Klanglandschaften einen Namen gemacht. Seit er 2010 nach New York zog, arbeitet er mit einer Reihe spannender Künstler zusammen: Mit John Zorn führte er dessen Bagatellen-Sammlung im Village Vanguard auf und spielte mit Jim Blacks Guitar Quartet im National Sawdust, The Stone und anderen New Yorker Clubs. Des Weiteren arbeitet er mit dem Elektronik-Künstler Lars Graugaard zusammen und wurde in Misaki Matsuis Kurzfilm „With Kenji and Keisuke“ gefeatured. Das Blow Up Magazin beschrieb ihn treffend: “most extravagant, mind-blowing, and unheard-within-the-unheard.”

Elias Stemeseder wurde 1990 im österreichischen Salzburg geboren und studierte Jazzklavier am Jazz-Institut Berlin. Dort wurde er von u.a. von Greg Cohen und John Hollenbeck unterrichtet. Seit 2008 verbindet ihn eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem New Yorker Avantgarde-Schlagzeuger Jim Black. Im Trio mit dem Bassisten Thomas Morgan nahmen Stemeseder und Black die CDs „Somatic“ (2012) und „Actuality“ (2014) auf und spielten europaweite Konzerttourneen. Zusammen mit Jim Black ist Stemeseder auch Mitglied des Trios Eyebone mit Nels Cline. Des Weiteren spielt er momentan u.a. mit Musikern wie Oskar Gudjonsson, Anna Webber und Philipp Gropper.

Jason Burger stammt aus Kalifornien und studierte an der renommierten Manhattan School of Music in New York Jazz-Schlagzeug. Er lebt in Brooklyn und tritt in legendären Clubs wie der Jazz Gallery oder dem Iridium auf, während er auf dem MTV gefeatured wurde. Er ist ein vielseitiger Drummer, der Grooves aus Indie-Rock und moderner Song-Kultur mit in sein Spiel integriert und insbesondere in der New Yorker Singer-Songwriter-Szene gefragt ist. Für seine herausragende Musikalität und sein progressives Spiel erhielt er den Louis Armstrong-Preis.

Bernhard Meyers spezielles, melodiesattes Spiel auf dem Halbresonanz-Bass beeindruckt seit Jahren die deutsche Jazz-Szene. Auch als Komponist ist er äußerst produktiv und spielt gemeinsam mit John Hollenbeck, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Jim Black, Eric Schäfer, Andi Haberl und seinem Bruder Peter Meyer. Er ist sowohl als Leader seines eigenen Quintetts als auch als Mitglied des erfolgreichen MELT Trios bekannt.

Sebastian Merk, gehört zu den führenden Schlagzeugern Deutschlands und ist Professor an der Musikhochschule in Dresden. Für seine Zusammenarbeit mit Johannes Enders, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Lee Konitz, Spaniol4, Bartmes und Sebastian Studnitzky erhält der hochtalentierte Komponist internationale Anerkennung. Er ist von Haus aus Tüftler und schleppt stets einen Koffer voll elektronischer Synthesizer-Instrumente auf Tour mit, die er im Hotelzimmer aufbaut und manchmal auch mit auf die Bühne nimmt.

stern_gr

Es mag an der Stückauswahl, der Detailschärfe und der Improvisationsfreude des gut eingespielten Quartetts liegen, dass Fly Magic in der Fabrik neben vielen Klangfarben eine unerwartete und anhaltende Intensität entwickelt.

Norbert Krampf, FAZ 12/2018

Ein Berliner Saxofonist in New York, zu dessen spritzigem Sound der Gitarrist Keisuke Matsuno sehr beiträgt.

Die ZEIT, Magazin Nr. 32/2017, Ulrich Stock, Albumrezension

Belonging to the “who’s who of Brooklyn-centric stars.

Downbeat Magazine, Hilary Brown, 10/2018

Vor allem aber ist ein kraftvoller Ton vom Saxofon zu hören. Und damit ein Musiker, der sich der Ahnen und Urahnen sehr bewusst ist, zugleich aber ganz genau weiß, dass nur er selber für die eigene Unverwechselbarkeit sorgen kann […] Eine echte Entdeckung.

NDR, Michael Laages, 04/2016

Mit ‘Fly Magic’ hat Timo Vollbrecht ein Album eingespielt, das am Ende des Jahres sicherlich zu den herausragenden Aufnahmen eines deutschen Musikers in 2016 gezählt werden wird.

Jazzpodium, Thorsten Hingst, 08/2016

In Vollbrechts Sound kann man sich hüllen wie in eine warme Decke.

JazzThing, Rolf Thomas, 03/2016